Tuition & Fees

Tuition is low at 迪士尼3彩乐园

— only $76.00* per credit hour, up to a maximum tuition of $1,216* per semester for 16 credit hours, for North Carolina residents. Tuition and fees for one semester (fall or spring) for a student who is a North Carolina resident taking 16 or more credit hours are:

* Subject to change by the North Carolina Board of Community Colleges or the General Assembly.

North Carolina Residents

Per credit hour (16 or less) $76.00
Activity Fee (8 hours or more) $32.00
7 hours or less $16.00
Campus Access Transportation & Security Fee (CATS) $12.00
Technology Fee $32.00
Insurance (subject to change by insurance carrier) $1.25/semester
I.D. Fee $1.75/semester
Student Advancement & Graduation $5.00
16 credit hours or more (tuition & fees) $1,300*

Non-Residents

Per credit hour (16 or less) $268.00
Activity Fee (8 hours or more) $32.00
7 hours or less $16.00
Campus Access Transportation & Security Fee (CATS) $12.00
Technology Fee $32.00
Insurance (subject to change by insurance carrier) $1.25/semester
I.D. Fee $1.75/semester
Student Advancement & Graduation $5.00
16 credit hours or more (tuition & fees) $4,372

Annual expenses are estimated for the academic year of two semesters (fall and spring) for average full-time North Carolina students in the 2020-2021 academic year.

Living at home with parents

Tuition and Fees (16 or more hours) $2,600
Books and Supplies $1,400
Room, Utilities, and Food $4,500
Transportation $2,250
Miscellaneous $1,350
Total for two semesters $12,100

Living off-campus

Tuition and Fees (16 or more hours) $8,744
Books and Supplies $1,400
Room, Utilities, Food $9,450
Transportation $2,250
Miscellaneous $1,350
Total for two semesters $23,194

Residency

North Carolina residents are eligible for a lower tuition rate than non-residents. The controlling North Carolina statute (G.S. 116-143.1) states that “To qualify as a resident for tuition purposes, a person must have established legal residence (domicile) in North Carolina and maintained that legal residence for at least twelve (12) months immediately prior to his/her classification as a resident for tuition purposes.”

Ownership of property in or payment of taxes to the State of North Carolina does not automatically qualify one for the in-state tuition rate. An out-of-state student’s tuition paid by an in state employer will be charged at the in-state rate. Residency status is determined by completing a Residency Determination Service (RDS) application.

Out-of-State or Married Students

Out-of-state students should add $6,128 to each total because of the higher tuition rates for non-residents. Married students should also expect higher costs for housing and other personal expenses.

Books and Supplies

The cost of books and supplies varies according to the programs in which students are enrolled. Students in health programs must purchase malpractice insurance (approximately $17.50), clinical uniforms, shoes, immunizations, drug screening, and criminal background checks required by the programs.

All the health care facilities require background checks. Approval for clinical comes from the facilities because they verify the backgrounds. Background checks for students cost approximately $70. In addition, nursing students are required to purchase testing and laboratory supplies (totaling approximately $230).

In addition to a textbook bundle (approximate cost $240), Cosmetology students must buy a beginner kit (approximate cost $1600) containing the tools necessary for hands on instruction. This kit meets compliance with NC State Board regulations. Cosmetology students must also purchase solid black uniforms (approximate cost $80 for two sets) and solid black closed-toe shoes (approximate cost $50).

(Books and Supplies approximate cost estimates as of August 7, 2020.)

Student Activity Fee

Students who take at least one curriculum course on campus and who enroll for eight or more hours pay a Student Activity fee of $32.00 each semester during the academic year. During the summer term there is no fee. The fees are used by the Student Government Association (SGA) to support activities such as intercollegiate athletics, dances, competitions, student clubs, entertainment, and academic and athletic awards.

Student Identification Card

Students pay $1.75 ID fee each semester for a photo I.D. card. The card admits the student to SGA-sponsored activities and entitles the student to admission discounts to other college events. The Student Identification Card will also serve as the Student Library Card. The replacement card costs $5.

Student Insurance

Low-cost student accident insurance is required for all curriculum students for a fee of $1.25 per semester (fee subject to change by the insurance company). Malpractice insurance is required for all students enrolled in all health programs that have a clinical lab.

Campus Access, Transportation & Safety (CATS)

A $12.00 CATS fee is collected to help provide campus access, security & safety for our students.

Registration fees for occupational extension and community service continuing education classes are set according to the total number of hours a course is scheduled to meet. The fee schedule for these classes follows:

The registration fee is waived for EMS, fire service, and law enforcement officers enrolling in courses designed to meet their training requirements as well as for North Carolina residents age 65 and older enrolling in special interest classes. Some continuing education classes are subject to insurance fees on a semester basis. The registration fee is not charged for Basic Skills Programs, which include Adult Basic Education,  High School Equivalency Diploma, Compensatory Education, and English as a Second Language. There is a $7.50 fee for official High School Equivalency testing.

A registration fee is not charged for Basic Skills Programs which include Adult Basic Education, High School Diploma Equivalency Certificate (GED), Compensatory Education, and English as a Second Language. The testing fee is $7.50 for new examinees and $2.50 for students retesting in writing.

REGISTRATION FEE(S) AND OTHER COSTS

Occupational Extension/Workforce Continuing Education registration fees are set by the NC Legislators.

Current fees are:

0-24 hours $70
25-50 hours $125
50+ hours $180

High School Equivalency testing fee(s) vary. Contact the High School Equivalency Diploma Examiner, for more information at (910) 642-7141, ext. 432.

Note: Registration fees are waived for EMS, fire service, and law enforcement officers enrolling in courses designed to meet their training requirements.

  • Personal Development (community service) class registration fees are based on all instructional costs associated with each class.
  • Student insurance fees are charged for select courses.
  • Supplies and materials are needed for some classes. *Registration fees and supply costs associated with classes are subject to change without prior notice.

METHOD(S) OF PAYMENT

All fees may be paid by cash, check or money order.

REGISTRATION FEE REFUNDS

Registration fee refunds are made only under the following circumstances:

  • A full refund will be made if the college cancels a class.
  • A student who officially withdraws from a continuing education class(es) prior to the first class meeting shall be eligible for a 100 percent refund.
  • After the respective class begins, a 75 percent refund shall be made upon the request of the student if the student officially withdraws from the class prior to or on the 10 percent point of the scheduled hours of the class. (Note: This rule is applicable regardless of the number of times the class meets or the number of hours the class is scheduled to meet.)
  • 100 percent refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws from a contact hour class prior to the first day of class or if the college cancels the class. A 75 percent refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws from a contact hour class on or before the tenth calendar day of the class.
  • Refunds of registration fees for community service self-supporting classes and activities will be granted only in the case of paid pre-registration, if requested in writing to the VP of Continuing Education and Economic Development prior to the first session of the class.
  • If a student who paid the required registration fee dies during that semester, all registration fees for that semester or term may be refunded to the estate of the deceased.
  • A full refund of registration fees will be granted to military reserve and National Guard personnel called to active duty or active personnel who have received temporary or permanent reassignments outside the state of NC. In addition, the college will buy back textbooks through the college’s bookstore to the extent possible.

CLASS/SEMINAR/WORKSHOP CANCELLATION(S)

迪士尼3彩乐园’s Workforce & Community Development Division reserves the right to cancel classes/seminars/workshops due to insufficient pre-registration and/or enrollment. A course may be canceled if fewer than eight (8) students enroll. Many classes require that students are in attendance the first class meeting.

PERSONAL INTEREST

Courses offered for personal growth or enjoyment are considered personal interest classes. They cover a variety of topic areas and are designed to make interested students stronger, well-rounded individuals as well as enhance the quality of life.

Personal Interest Self-Supporting Fee Structure

All Personal Interest classes are self-supporting. All persons enrolling in these courses are required to pay registration fees which are based on instructional costs associated with each class.

Contact